Friday 16 February 2024

VA -- Rosemarie [ Le Major's mixtape ]


There are two sides to Rose Marie.

Side A is very mellow and cinematic: soulful turkish and iranian singers, italian soundtracks and oddities.. [ Rose Marie by Bora Ayanoğlu is part of the soundtrack to "Aşk, Mark ve Ölüm ", a great documentary about turkish diaspora and its musical scene in Germany. ]

Side B, on the other end, is very joyful, groovy and futuristic. A few classics to (re)discover [Porque Te Vas' spanish singer Jeanette, here with another cool song], and some loony productions [genius UK producer Brenda Ray's Another Dream is the just the tip of the iceberg, Nigerian's Kosmic 3"s groove is just something else!] . You will also find a bunch of fresh urban tunes to spice it up, from London to the East Coast. [Danger Mouse & Black Thought's Cheat Codes is such an amazing Hip hop album]

1. Bora Ayanoğlu - Rose Marie 
2. Lesiman  - Trepido E Llare giorno
3. La Bibliothèque De La Bergerie - L’Homme Qui N’ Existait Pas   
4. Kourosh Yaghmaei - Leila (Leila) 
5. Ferdi Özbeğen - Aldırma Gönül 
6. Ennio Morricone - Ricordi Tanti Fiori 
7. Morteza Mahjubi - Improvisation in Sigah (Golha-ye Rangarang #193) 
8. Ellya Khadam ,Oma Irama & Orkes Melayu - Sepatu Baru  
9. Dariush - Talaafi

10. Jeanette - El Amor Toca El Violin 
11. Galt Mc Dermott - Space
12. Brenda Ray - Another Dream  
13. Metronomy - Mandibules (main theme)
14. Kosmic 3 - I’m Gonna Pack
15. Little Simz - Who Even Cares 
16. Free The Robots - Welcome To Los Angeles 
17. Danger Mouse & Black Thought - Close to Famous 
18. The Sweet Enoughs - Cerberus

Illustration taken from Yann Damezin's Concerto pour Main Gauche
Thanks: The Gray Area, Gerard, Derya, Graham, Radio Campus Dijon, Arci Subasio.
Stay tuned : SPECIAL Tristes Humanistes #100 Mega Comp' out soon !

Friday 2 February 2024

va - Bel Épok Djaz ! Haïti Meringue & Early Kompa [1954-1968] - Edition Volkov EV#09


va - Bel Épok Djaz ! Haïti Meringue & Early Kompa [1954-1968]

Félix's latest research comp on 50's & 60's haitian music, released on K7 on Edition Volkov last year, and available for download above or streaming below. Wicked stuff!